Murphy’s Road Rules #013

John The Aussie

It’s a shame you can’t hear it when they attempt it…

If however you are not first in line at the traffic lights, you should beep your horn in the first millisecond of the light changing green to ensure that they understand their reaction time is far from decent if they haven’t moved by the first second.

John The Aussie

They move quicker when their rear window suddenly smashes on top of the gun shot sounds… Just saying…

~ by John the Aussie on October 29, 2012.

21 Responses to “Murphy’s Road Rules #013”

  1. I was at a red light the other day, 2nd in line. It turned green. Car in front of me wasn’t moving. I waited a few seconds, then lightly honked. Nothing. Waited a few more seconds, then lightly honked again. Nothing. Repeated a third time, nothing. Ten seconds had gone by, at this time. So I tapped a few honks in succession. Beep, beep, beep, beep, beep. Nothing. Then I just layed on the horn. BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP. Finally they moved, just as the light was turning yellow. Turns out it was some wench on her iPhone. “OH SHIZ LT R GRN! GTG!” Die, and burn in fire.

  2. Yes, annoying the vehicle in front of you will always get you were you are going faster! LOL *chuckling* I’m one of those people (who drives like a very safe maniac most of the time) who will sit there and offer a full – and profoundly lengthy – verbal apology to the offended car who’s driver often tends to get very red faced, agitated & begins pounding on their horn like a lunatic. Then I smile, give then a single fingered wave goodbye, and go about my day. Sometimes being patient is a virtue… though I do admit to having little of that myself! If however I am the car behind the non-moving driver, and they are not a senior citizen in some form of physical trauma, I will give it a beat or two, then become the lunatic I just described (red faced, aggravated beyond belief, and waking up every sleeping toddler in the neighbor hood with the horn on my truck). I may have a bi-polar driving disorder… seems it’s all me, me, me when I’m on the road (but I do politely allow others to back out of their driveways, and pause for small children when they are crossing – so that makes it okay)! ;)~

  3. I’m afraid to use my horn. People are on such a hair-trigger any more – and they’re armed.

  4. I always think it’s ironic that, along with honking a nanosecond after the green light, Aussie drivers’ first-equal motoring pastime is running red lights.

  5. Not exactly related to the “Red light” post, but the other day I was making a right turn from a ramp onto a three lane highway. There was somebody approaching from the left in the farthest right lane. I gauged his speed and realized I could safely pull out and cross into the middle lane, thus giving him no reason to slow down. I proceeded with said plan and as I crossed into the middle lane and had already been moving the speed limit. A few short seconds later, guy in the far right lane finally passes by me, middle finger extended, arm out the window nearly hitting my mirror. He rode like that until he was a good 30 meters passed me.

    Well now, I was not at all amused, especially when I had plenty of time to make my maneuver safely. He just had to be one of those guys. I switched into his lane as he approached a red light and at full throttle barreled down on him as he was stopped at the light. I slammed on the brakes screeching to a stop less than half a meter from him. I looked into his rearview mirror and laughed at the scared, enlarged eyes looking back at me. I just smiled at him.

    About a kilometer down the road, I pulled up beside him, put down the passenger side window and sternly told him… “You better watch who you are flipping off!” He turned to look at me and asked “What?” I repeated myself and he turned forward, pretending that he didn’t hear me and that I wasn’t there. My next step was to swerve my car in his direction, but fortunately for him … I had to make a turn to go to work.

    Next time bitch… you’re mine.

  6. Hehehehehehe….Hysterical…Where do I get one of those installed???
    xx
    Sooz

  7. That’s hysterical! People are so frustrating and inconsiderate at times!

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
