My first attempt at a book review, and it gets published thanks to the opportunity given to me from A Knife & A Quill. Any advice that the WordPress community can offer via email or on this reblog, I’d really appreciate it. I’m still learning.

A Knife And A Quill- old

“The Brothers Grimm meets Lord of the Rings.” –Patrick Thomas, author of The Murphy’s Lore series

Amazon Kindle US:Shards Of The Glass Slipper: Queen Cinder

Amazon Kindle UK:Shards Of The Glass Slipper: Queen Cinder

Author: Roy A. Mauritsen
Publisher: Padwolf Publishing Inc. (April 16, 2012)
Print Length: 320 pages

Shards of a glass slipper pushes beyond the boundaries of alternative history.  But not our history, the history of fairy tales and fables. Well actually it creates a whole new world.  I was amazed to find CGI pictures of characters and scenery throughout the Kindle Version.

In the beginning we are taken to a secluded hut on a beach inhabited by a crippled young woman.  A young woman who hides a secret and her identity from the world.  Yet her disability has far from broken her will and spirit which is shown when she attempts to rescue a shipwrecked soul.

The scene shifts to a…

View original post 220 more words

~ by John the Aussie on July 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “”

  1. For a first attempt, it’s pretty darn good. I always think it’s important to say why you don’t like a book, I think that you offered up a good criticism. I think, though, that maybe you could have added a bit more about the story itself — and, maybe introduce the criticism earlier in the review, rather than waiting until the very end. The way it’s written sort of leaves me not wanting to read it, since the negative remarks at the end are what stick with me. Unless, that was your intent, to discourage the reader (though, I think that’s not what you had in mind.)

    That’s just my two-pennyies worth…..

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
