War Dances in Rugby Union

I am proud of the world of Rugby Union, the nations and the war dances that are performed with great pride.  I’ve seen three of these live, The Indigenous Australians, The Maori and the Tongans.  Each time I do see and hear their war cries and see the lack of fear held with great respect for their opponents (until game starts).  I am an Wallabies supporter through and through until the moment the turned their back on the Kiwi’s (Maori’s) during th emiddle of the Haka.  So did many other teams, and each time “The power of the Haka” gave the Kiwi’s more strength and they one the games.  Every team shows respect for each war dance.

Now I don’t wnat none of this “Which code is better?” bullshit, original Gaelic Football was the most brutul of them all and still is when played.  I’ve come up against the Irish in the under 18’s in the IRF and you will never see any blood continuously flow from every game of every grade.

Well to sum it all up here are three videos…  Ladies, if football is not your thing, enjoy the muscles…

~ by John the Aussie on February 13, 2012.

10 Responses to “War Dances in Rugby Union”

  1. I’ll admit I don’t really ‘get it’, being a stupid american. Is the war dance different every time? What are they yelling? Is it like smack-talk or is he calling the haka? I understand you saying that there’s a ton of respect being shown, that part is very cool.

    • From what I was taught…
      Polynesian War Dances (Maori, Tongan, Fijian, etc) were and are to test the intentions and bravery of the opposing side. There is history of hundreds doing the Haka to European Explorers and settlers, to lead into a quick evacuation of fear. Eventually, when it was understood, there were great feasts and drinking. Then there was hostile take overs of islands or areas here and there. There are many Hakas of each tribe.

      The aboriginal war dance, is a traditional war dance done before commencing war.

      The Scottish is to just mock their opponents… Brilliant!!

      In sport, its for testing bravery and war. Great disrespect if you laugh or mock the Haka performing opponents declaring war. Ever played any contact sport with the opposing side filled with hatred down to their heritage? I did when I was young and cocky, its like a performance enhancing drug, and it hurts being rucked.

      To get the best descriptions of the Haka, go to Hawaii, laws or rules prevent them from performing their own in sports. Which is a shame. But doing a traditional tour will get you their air of ambience and if they perform the War Dance it is to show their lack of fear, their strength and their union.

      Every Haka has its own words and is performed differently.

  2. So each team has their own Haka, and its the same every time?

    • Yeah mate, each nation has their own Numerous Hakas they perform at different events… and ‘usually’ only perform the same Haka at each sport, it’s been known occasionally for them team to change to a different Haka, but usually that depends on the grounds they are playing on or who they are up against.

  3. Gotcha! I think I’m going to try and catch a couple rugby matches this year. Its interesting to see the stands so empty. Are they mid-day games, or do most people just watch on TV?

  4. hhahhashhahaha omg….the Irish one had me in stitches…seriously though, the Maori haka always gives me goosebumps its by far the most intimidating war dance to me.

  5. Being an American, I don’t get to watch much Rugby, but I lived in New Zealand for a few months, and watched a bit while I was there. I’d have to say, I certainly wouldn’t turn my back on someone in the middle of the Maori Haka. I’d be too afraid they’d charge and kick the crap out of me.

  6. These are great

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
