I’m just a Dumb Eskimo; But Seriously, the OSHA manual is there for a reason!

Most of the time when I take a call that makes me cringe for the stupidity the only thing that is hurt is a few of my brain cells as I slam my head into my desk repeatedly wondering why exactly I thought it would be a good idea to work with these people, the following story however shows that in some cases I’m not the only one to be hurt by a callers diminishing IQ:

Me: Thank you for calling the *****’s call center, this is Andrew speaking how may I help you today?

Caller: uhh… yea hi this is Mike, I’m calling from the Pine Street *****’s and I just had a question. (Seriously, does this guy know how many pine streets there are in America…?)

Me: I’m sorry sir the first thing I’m going to need is your unit number.

Caller: Oh ok… do you want me to tell you what the unit number is?

Me: (…god this guy sounds familiar) yes please sir.

Caller: Okay I’m from unit XXXX

Me: (crap it’s the bacon guy…) Okay sir and how can I help you?

Caller: Well here’s the thing we’re currently closed to clean the grills, about an hour ago one of my employees was using the grill cleaner and it splashed back and got in his eyes, and now they are hurting more then earlier, I was just wondering what I should do?

Me: Wait, they splashed grill cleaner in their eyes? Have you flushed them out with water yet?

Caller: No, should I have?

Me: yes you need to immediately flush out his eyes with water and get him to an emergency room, you should have done this an hour ago when it happened why didn’t you follow your OSHA handbook? Now I need you to follow those directions immediately.

Caller: Okay… where would that book be?

Me: Listen you need to do those other things IMEDIATELY or else this guy might lose his sight.

Caller: Oh okay (and he hung up)

2 days later…

Boss: hey Andrew I need to talk to you.

Me: Hey, what’s up?

Boss: You took a call a couple nights ago from Mike at unit XXXX right?

Me: yea (I don’t usually remember calls from the top of my head but this one was an exception) he had called in after an hour of leaving his employee with grill cleaner in his eyes. So I told him to immediately have the employee flush his eyes out with water and to get him to an emergency room.

Boss: Oh good, I wanted to confirm that he had not called in until an hour after the employee had gotten hurt. The employee has 10% of his sight diminished now and will need to start wearing glasses. So I guess were gonna need to pay for it.

Me: I really hope the manager is no longer a manager….

Boss: We made it very clear to the franchisee that failing to fire him would lead to the removal of our support.John The Aussie

~ by noriliszione on October 2, 2011.

One Response to “I’m just a Dumb Eskimo; But Seriously, the OSHA manual is there for a reason!”

  1. That is just pathetic… How the hell does a manager reach that level without know what his occupation health and safety laws are?

    Thank god he is fired… and good advice on your part to mate.

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
