I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? New kid on the block

So I’ve started a new job on a new mine site and had to arrive the night before to claim my accommodation   To my relief the room supplied to me had an en-suite  which I have been overly lucky with during my mining career thus far, except one contract. So I gave great thanks to the sheila who organised the rooms, asked about the rules of accommodation and mess hall.  After a 4 hour drive of roadworks and dumbass drivers the room was like a 5 stay hotel room to me.

John The Aussie

I got to my room and started unloading the car (one bag, two coles shoping bags, a carton of solo) which took four trips due to cigerette & solo can in one hand and the bag(s) in the other.  My next door neighbour came out and watched me as he drank a coffee and lit a cigerette.  I finished putting the bags just inside the door (non-smoking rooms) and sat on my step to finish the newly rolled cigerette.

My new neighbour came around the corner and the usual pleasantries were thrown back and forth for five minutes until….
“So I am on night shift so I’d appreciate it if you kept it down during the day.” Said the neighbour in a sudden demeaning tone.
“Yeah mate, no worries, I’m on days so we’ll pro’lly not see each other”
“I don’t care just keep it down.”
“Had a bad previous neighbour mate?”
“No why?”
“No reason, I’ll keep it down while your at home and I expect the same thing when I am at home.  I’ve worked on mine sites for 5 years now.”
“I’ve been doing it for 10 years, you better keep it down” and the prick walked off flicking his cigarette onto the road.
I yelled out “Didn’t know it was a pissing contest” just before he turned the corner, and he stopped turn stuck out his chest and glared.
“What? Got another demand?” I asked with blank face.
“Just keep it down you little shit.”

After the neighbour took off to work, I had a shower and headed to the mess hall (which is another story entirely).  When I finished my feed, I got back to camp and after unloading the bag for the day of work I realised the next door left his TV blaring.

I went to the power box and switched the power off to his room and settled in for the night.

I woke up the next morning and turn his power back on and I left my tv on static and full volume when I left the next morning.  With a danger lock on the power box.

John The Aussie

~ by John the Aussie on August 11, 2011.

9 Responses to “I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? New kid on the block”

  1. haha nice one. what a rude man!

  2. NICE lol.. go sleepy

  3. OH and… The danger lock is a mining lock in which the orignal owner must be contacted to remove the lock…. if not the mining manager must be contacted and do a thorough search of the area and then remove the lock after the area has been deemed safe… 3-4 hours in total .. then 2 hours of paperwork to do… the lock was left on overnight, I took it off that afternoon, his tv wasn’t on that night…

  4. lol where the hell do you find them…constantly….you must have that “crim” look or something..damn! But good one hehehe

  5. Someone remind me not to mess with sleepy…

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
