I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? My two cents!

A few days ago, I was travelling home on Wednesday afternoon to make it back in time for my wifes’ Birthday.

Along the way I was chatting to a few semi drivers behind me on the two way and chatting about BS and I had just warned them about a shitload of goats and a few shepard dogs amongst them covering a narrow strip between fences over the road. I slowed down where these goats were and dogs barking their heads off. I wound down the window and yelled “SIT!”. So the dog in front did. Dammit Move Pup before the trucks come. I hear a whistle to my right and the dog walks over to where I see a hat raise out the grass with a hand attached.

By now the trucks have caught up again and we all get to the turnoff to the highway where I gain my distance going down the range. Without realising I was doing around 113km per hour when highway patrol car is coming in my direction and flashes me. So I slowed to 98km and gave him a wave.

Not wanting my chatting companions get caught out I call over the two way “Two cent piece coming your way boys”. I get a couple of “cheers mate”, “no worries” but the last too answer was a young bloke new to the road “whats the fuck is a two cents?”

Obviously passing the patrol by now he comes over the radio again “Oh, never mind”

Other truckie chimed “What’s the color of a two cent piece? Copper, Copper!”

John The Aussie

~ by John the Aussie on July 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? My two cents!”

  1. Clever.

    • Oh please, please, please, do not be a cop from NSW who has taken offence… This was to take the piss out of the young driver… I was heading down hill off a range so the truckies would have been doing a maximum of 70km anyway with the steep inclines…

      Otherwise.. Thanks!

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
