I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? ♫I’ve been everywhere man♫

A few years ago a bunch of us were all sitting around after a hard days night of work drinking the remainder of our hospitality drnks tab. We got talking about travel, where we’ve been and where we’d like to go. Taj mahal, Golden gate bridge, Pyramids were all mentioned by a few.

(names may have been changed to protect the individuals except the culprit)

Abby (Bar Attendant) – You know what? I would’ve love to seen the Porcelain Tower. But at least I got to see relics of it in a museum when I was in China.
John The Aussie

Tony (Hippy Bar Attendant) – Babylon Gardens, woulda been good to see…
John The Aussie

Me – The Zues Statue for me.
John The Aussie

Tim (Regular) – Fuck it, while we’re on wonders of the world the Colossus in greece – you know the one that was destroyed in Rhodes.

Tony – Collossus of Rhodes?

Tim – Yeah him. I’ve always imagined sailing under it in greece when I was there.
John The Aussie

Me- You wanted to sail your boat through a naked mans legs? Do you look up while you imagining this?

Tim -Fuck you man.

Leroy – You know what I’d love to do? Ride on Halleys Comet. See the worlds of our galaxy.
John The Aussie

By now our spare glassie (Rob) had finished taking the rubbish out the back and was walking over.

Me – I would love to goto the Sea of Tranquility. I’ve seen photo’s and can you imagine the view?

Rob – I’ve been there – Best time is at sunrise

Me – I’d imagine it would be. When did ya go? (now every one is paying attention)

Rob – few years ago now when I was packpacking myself.

Me – shit aye? Cost ya much to go there?

Rob – nah walked most of it than got picked up by a couple of blokes who took me there.

Me – It wasn’t Buzz Aldrin & Pete Conrad who picked you up was it?

Rob – I can’t remember their fucking name, but I really think you should go man, it’s great. Plus I think you’d like the wildlife

Tony – Mare Tranquillitatis. “Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.”

Rob – Huh?

Tony – Mare Tranquillitatis is latin for Sea of Tranquility. And than a quote from Buddha.

Me – as the chinese proverbs say “When a finger points to the moon, the imbecile looks at the finger”

Rob – you guys talk to much shit. I’m going home. (and leaves)

Awkward silence

Abby – So John are you gonna tell him?

Me – Nah fuck him.

John The Aussie

~ by John the Aussie on July 3, 2011.

One Response to “I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? ♫I’ve been everywhere man♫”

  1. […] I’m Just a dumb Miner – whats your excuse? ♫I’ve been everywhere man♫ […]

Go on, give us a yarn or two, mate.

 
